Thursday, April 7, 2011

Now I Know my ABCs...

I've been seeing this meme quite a bit lately, and while I normally don't participate I thought this one was really fun. So here you go, the ABCs of me!


A - Age: 30. It's weird to think I'm in my fourth decade because I don't feel that old...not that 30 is necessarily old, but it seems like a big milestone to hit. Luckily, I didn't approach 30 with a sense of dread because I've always been the youngest among my friends. I embraced turning 30! (31 might be a different story, though)

B - Bed size:
 Queen. The Scientist and I are little people so a queen is the perfect size. Although, I wouldn't complain if we had a king :-)


C - Chore you hate: Um, all of them? Nah, I actually don't mind certain chores but oh my god I hate the dishes times a million. Cleaning the cat box is up there, too.

D - Dogs: I love the doggies! We had dogs growing up and I would LOVE to have a dog again someday. We can't in our apartment, but eventually we'll adopt one. I prefer medium to big dogs (labs, huskies, springers), but I do love Scotties and Westies.

E - Essential start to your day: A shower. I will not leave the house without a shower. It doesn't take me long to get ready - even with a shower and makeup I can be ready and out the door in 20 minutes - but I MUST have a shower. Gotta love oily skin, greasy scalp and super fine and thin hair.

F - Favorite Color: PURPLE. And purple-y blues.

G - Gold or Silver: I have actually been wearing a lot more gold lately. But not super bright or brassy gold, more muted and vintage looking gold.

H - Height: 5' 2". Oddly enough, everyone else in my family is super tall.

I - Instruments you play: Flute and piano, and I can play a few chords on the guitar. I also play a mean recorder.

J - Job title: Student and freelance writer.

K - Kids: Just furbabies. Two kitties, Truman and Clementine.


L - Live: Seattle area. DYING to get back into the city, though. If The Scientist gets a job at one of the many bio-techs in Seattle, we'll move. Otherwise, we'll stay right here since he can walk to work :-)

M - My mom's name: Vicki! Full name is Victoria Elizabeth Ann. So queenly.


N - Nickname: Stevie, obviously. Also Steph. And when I was younger, my brother's friends loved to call me Stephanerd.

O - Overnight hospital stay: Luckily, no!

P - Pet Peeve: Oh god, so many. I probably should be a bit more relaxed about a lot of things, but I just can't get over poor grammar and misspellings. The worst offenders are using your instead of you're, it's instead of its, their instead of there, than instead of then, and ending sentences with the word at. UGH. It makes me cringe.


Q - Quote from a movie from a book: Wait, a quote from a movie that's based on a book? Or a quote from a movie OR a book? I'm going to go with a quote from one of my all time favorites, Empire Records. The other day, Nora, Chelsea, Lacey, Erin and I were quoting back and forth all day on Twitter and it was so fun to relive our favorite moments from the movie throughout the day. 




Mitchell's the man, I'm the idiot, you're the screw up, and we're all losers.

R- Right/Lefty: I'm right handed, but I'm fully ambidextrous when it comes to putting on makeup. Fact.

S - Siblings: Two brothers, one is 32 and the other is 26. I also have three stepsiblings - a stepbrother who is 36? and two stepsisters who are 33 and 29. 

T - Time you wake up: Totally depends on the day. Being back in school has totally screwed up any regular schedule I used to have. 

U - Underwear: Yes, I wear it. I prefer thongs during the day, and at night I sleep in a cami and boy shorts.

V - Veggies you dislike: I never met a vegetable I didn't like. 

W - What makes you run late: For the most part I'm always early, but being a full time public transit user can get in the way of that. I can plan ahead as much as I want, but sometimes I'm at the mercy of the bus system.

X - Xrays you've had: Routine dental x-rays, my collar bone when I was a youngster, and once on my foot when I was 13 or 14? It was the weirdest thing. Anytime I moved my big toe, it made a creaking noise. My friends and I called it squeaky foot disease. It turned out to be nothing, and I still have no idea what caused that noise, but it was so bizarre.

Y - Yummy food you make: I make a mean spaghetti sauce, delicious salads, chicken adobo, several types of curries, white chicken chili (for which I won an award!), and a tasty Thai chicken soup. I love to cook!

Z - Zoo animal: I love to freak myself out in the reptile house, the monkeys and apes are super fun to watch when they're active, the elephants are breathtaking, and I love the cats!

4 comments:

  1. 31 is also good-- I seriously like being in my 30s so I think you are good (we'll see what happens when I start getting near 40 though). I have identical underwear habits :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. You creaky toe freaks me out. I have you beat at 5'2" and 3/4 ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hate bad grammar and misspellings too! I especially hate it when people misuse apostrophes. Once when I saw a poster that had lots of misplaced ones (it was advertising opening times of a market and read Monday's, Tuesday's etc), I had a real urge to run over and cross them all out!

    However, I love this meme! I've seen a few people joining in over the last week or so, and it's really making me want to join in! Maybe I'll even make it my next post... :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love, love, love big dogs. And Westies are adorable. I'll probably grow up to be a crazy dog lady. If I'm lucky enough to have space enough for them.

    ReplyDelete

Talk to me, Goose.